Inauguration of the Technical Club, ASTC at BNMIT

Well, here I am writing another blog post. This one is an unique experience. I have never done anything like this before. So, it is a first time for me.

I was asked to be a distinguished guest for the inauguration of the technical club at BNMIT.

A couple of weeks ago, I got a call from a student in BNMIT named Jayanth M.P. He told me that they were inaugurating a technical club in their college and it was going to be a grand one (It definitely was a grand opening). He had asked me if I could be present there for the inauguration and I did agree for it. He also wanted a SUN Employee to be present there to grace the occasion. He requested for an Employee and finally Rajesh U.S., the SUNCA co-ordinator for south India himself agreed to be there.

We were formally greeted by the BNMIT mangement upon reaching their campus. We were made to sit in the board room along with the Principal, the Director, all the Dept HoDs and a couple of other dignitories from other companies. We were served snacks and drinks. It was weird to be in a social environment with all these high profile people (remember, I am still an Under-Grad Student).

We were then taken to the auditorium for the inauguration. Again, it was all completely formal environment which I had never experienced before. We were introduced to the crowd and were given bouquets of appreciation by the institution!!!

Let me come back to the crux of the event. ASTC stands for Advanced Software Technologies Club. I really liked the name. It is kind of unique and also turns out into a cool acronym. The inauguration started of well and there was Rajesh with his presentation talking to the students about the OUSM group and the SAI programs. The students were indeed keen to learn more about this program. It was quite an enlightening talk to most of them present there.

Crowd at BNMIT

Crowd at BNMIT

I was called mainly to speak about the SUN CA program and its benefits. I wanted to make it a crisp but an appealing talk which I eventually managed to do. My job was to wake the students up, who were in that hall for 2.5 hrs. God! they were a patient crowd. I was in fact quite amazed at how quite and calm they were throughout the inauguration. When I walked onto the stage, I got the flow that I needed to make a good speech. I was there representating all the SUN CA’s across the world. I talked to the students about growing a community, being innovative, contributing to the community and a couple of other thoughts which I think each student must and should follow.

Me giving a talk at BNMIT during the inauguration of their technical club, ASTC

Me @ BNMIT

I am completely happy that I got an opportunity to present my views in front of a big crowd in a different campus! Finally, I would like to thank BNMIT for inviting me (a “mere” student) to represent the Campus Ambassador community at such a major event in their institution.

 

– Posted at 06:20PM Mar 30, 2009 by Vittal P in Sun

Comments:

 

Must have been a great experience to be a chief guest (and at a very young age too.. πŸ™‚

Posted by Nischal E Rao on March 31, 2009 at 06:10 PM IST

 

I was not the chief guest πŸ˜›
“Just” a distinguished guest πŸ™‚

Posted by Vittal P on March 31, 2009 at 11:20 PM IST

This entry was posted in SUN Microsystems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment